• Print this page

AFL Grand Final Public Holiday

28 Sep 2018 12:00 AM - 28 Sep 2018 11:30 PM


AFL Grand Final Holiday is the newest public holiday in the state of Victoria. The date of the holiday is on the Friday preceding the Australian Football League Grand Final, which leads it to being referred to as “AFL Grand Final Eve.”

The sport of football has deep roots in Victoria. The Australian Football League (AFL) was originally known as the Victorian Football League (VFL) because all of its teams were within the bounds of Victoria. From 1897 through 1989, it was the VFL, but in 1990, the league’s expansion during the 80s to four other states was finally recognized by the name change.

There are now 18 teams in the AFL, at least one in every state but Tasmania. The AFL season has three parts: a pre-season, a regular season from March till September, and a play off season. The play offs involve the eight teams with the best records and run four rounds. They culminate in the AFL Grand Final, which always is held in the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne.